The second half of life..

By twigs

Summit Road, Banks Peninsula

Had a great night's sleep last night and woke up refreshed and ready to do a little exploring.  By C2 however (coffee #2!) there were spits of rain on the windows and when I stepped outside I could feel a real chill in the air.  It was still lovely to wander around a few Akaroa shops though.  Decided to do the over-the-top return to Little River (a pity teejay wasn't home) where I'm staying at the campground tonight. By over-the-top I mean the Summit Road........a bit narrow, a bit windy, a bit high and a bit of rain.  Great!  I think I only passed about 4 cars until the last section by which time the Easter tourists were arriving so the number leaped to about 30!  This pic taken at one of the Summit Road junctions that split off into various directions - many heading down steep, skinny roads towards lovely shelterd bays.  Today wasn't the day to explore the bays though.  It's been raining again since I arrived late afternoon - I do hope it stops by the morning as the campground is set in some lovely, bird-filled grounds.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.