Amongst the blossom

Nearly two weeks after our last attempt, today we make it to The Spinnies for the first time this year. Of course, you’ll know by now that the main purpose of such a visit is to spot a kingfisher - and although most days you’ll spot one, a sighting is never a certainty. Today, however, we are lucky; we see two - or maybe it’s the same one twice - one close to the hide, another at a distance.  Still re-educating myself to my old 7D, my settings are all wrong for the close sighting which occurs just after we’ve arrived, and the second distant shots are just that - distant. At one time, I’d be happy enough to post these, but now there are so many stunning kingfisher shots posted by my gifted fellow blippers, that these would only be my main if I had nothing else. And fortunately, I do. 

There’s a stately egret in full breeding plumage fishing in the lagoon; hopefully the nesting colony will soon be evident. Then bizarrely, two male mandarin ducks suddenly make an appearance, gliding gaudily along the lake, reflections almost perfect - a species I’ve never seen before in Wales. That’s it, it seems, main sorted. 

But then I spot a flurry in the blackthorn blossom, and see a blue tit flitting in between the tiny flowers presumably feeding on small insects. Amongst the blossom, it’s hard to focus on this little bird who’s moving quickly - perching upright, dropping down, flying from branch to branch, or swinging upside down to catch the tastiest morsels, but it’s a joy to watch. And there are others, far less acrobatic, like chaffinches or great tits. 

So even without a starring kingfisher, I find I’m spoilt for choice. I’m really torn between the blue tit perching in the blossom, and him caught in flight - and I’ve already swapped then round twice such is my indecision! I can’t believe I’m going for this diminutive little garden bird for my main and relegating both kingfisher and mandarin to extras! (Better large if you have time.) 

Thanks so much for your generous response to yesterday’s ewe and lamb blip! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.