Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

At last – Something's happening

My appointment with the vascular consultant was at 9:15 in Beaumont Hospital, but it was 10:45 by the time my name was called. I've been on a blood thinner since my emergency hospitalisation in September 2020, but that's all that's been done so far about the blocked artery which is seriously affecting my walking. At my last appointment in October last year the man himself decided it was time for another CT scan, and that happened at the end of January. Today was crunch time. Have things got worse? If so, what's to be done about it?

I saw the man himself walking around and calling people in while I sat and waited, playing sudoko on my phone to pass the time, and I was a bit disappointed when it was one of his juniors who finally called my name. It turns out that things have been happening in the background between-times. My situation was discussed at a general meeting of consultants and the decision was made to send me for an angioplasty. That was requested on 21st March and the necessary keyhole surgery should happen within four weeks or so.

I think the junior doctor was surprised when I told her I was delighted with the news. I am, though. It's good that something's finally being done which will hopefully bring some relief. I'm happy. Looking forward to my angioplasty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.