Wildwood Mountain*

It warmed up after another really cold start this morning. It was an unusual feeling to be taking off my sweater instead of adding another one as I headed out to Pilates. It was a pleasant surprise to see that the announced changes in the studio have been accomplished...almost. The curtain dividing the room in two parts has been taken down, two more reformers have been added for a total of ten and the private sessions that used to happen on the other side of the curtain have now moved into a space next door. It's much more light and open,  and there is more room everywhere. It's still a bit of a challenge for people with private sessions as the door that has been planned to connect the new studio to the main one has yet to be cut through the wall. I don't know how the private clients are finding their way in there at present, but it is far less distracting to have them in a separate space.

After class I made my way to the fabric store to look for fabrics for Anne's quilt. There was a class going on in the back of the store...it sounded like a beginning quilters' class. There is almost always some kind of class going on in the store as they also sell sewing machines, quilting machines and give classes on their use. Last time I was in there it sounded like it was just a group of women getting together to work on their projects. Eavesdropping on these gatherings as I browse through the shelves of fabric bolts is always entertaining.

Back in the car, I was especially pleased to discover a shortcut that allowed me to avoid a nightmare intersection that includes several lanes in every direction and needing to be in the right lane so as not to wind up on the freeway to Ukiah. I always thought that this 'shortcut' road was just a driveway because it's always busy but it turns out that it passes a school.

I need to get out more....

I'm not going to say much about the indictment of Donald Trump, because it has all been said and speculated on endlessly.  My strong personal reaction to the pictures of him entering the courtroom stonefaced was not how despicable/ immoral/corrupt/unpleasant/ gross/calculating he is, although all of those things are true. No, it was just how pathetic he is....and I hope that will be his legacy.

*I always love to see the constantly changing face of this hill with its vineyards, trees and clouds. Even the burned conifers along the ridge seem to be making a heroic effort to come back

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.