jasoncubarhodes

By jasoncubarhodes

Where You Stand Now Were Tools in the Basement

When I moved into this apartment (from whose second story window this photo was taken), there was a condemned building separating my house and this one. About two years ago it was torn down. There was a gaping hole but only for a few short months. I don't know how I feel about it.

The title comes from CAKE's song, "Palm of Your Hand," which says:
When the house was standing,
You'd never have believed it

That gaping hole was once a foundation
Where you stand now were tools in the basement

How can you say forever is at your command?
How can you say the future is in the palm of your hand?


Sometimes that's how I feel about our downtown's slow and steady gentrification. But sometimes I also feel awed by life's resilience (and as such almost titled this from the Talking Heads song, "Nothing but Flowers"). You knock a building down and stuff starts growing there just as soon as possible.

And, to me, that's pretty cool... if somewhat terrifying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.