Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hiding...

I've been watching for jumping spiders since the weather started warming up and today I was rewarded when I caught a glimpse of this tiny jumper on the underside of a daffodil.  Amazingly, he was still there after I'd run into the house and grabbed a camera and diffuser.  And he wasn't particularly jumpy which allowed me to get several shots before he flung himself into space.  

I went to a wetlands area with a birder friend today and we saw an amazing 49 species!  In fairness, she had a spotting scope which allowed us to see many ducks that were way too far away for bins or a lens.  Still, that is a lot of species for this early in the year and without a single warbler or neotropical migrant in the area yet.  It was foggy when we started and rather cool, but when the sun came out it warmed up to the 70's and we were shedding outer layers.  A very fun time and I will put one shot in Extra that I liked of a red-winged blackbird in flight.  

Jax is at daycare and Hubs has just left with our neighbor for a 30 mile bike ride.  I'll be heading out soon to pick the boy up and hoping he will be sufficiently worn out to sleep, allowing me a bit more time outside.  The little yellow warbler from yesterday is still around - saw him eating suet, gleaning insects out of the trees, and also zipping around on the lawn grabbing little bugs.  What a delight.  Lots of bees buzzing around out there too as the cherry trees continue to burst into bloom.  

I had 2 small squares of decadently dark chocolate today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.