A Good Friday Tradition

"One a penny, two a penny, hot cross buns."  The history of eating these sweet buns studded with raisins and candied fruit goes back centuries.  They began being associated with Good Friday in the 12th century.  We got our buns for Easter at Silva's Bakery in the town I grew up in and, after 70 years, Silva's is still in business I'm happy to say.  Mom and I would go to town on Saturdays to get a loaf of Portuguese sweet bread (or Friday morning for hot cross buns if it was Easter) and then go to the local library to return and get books.  For me, it wouldn't be Easter without these buns on Good Friday.  As children, we were meant to be quiet between 12 and 3 pm in our rooms.  A perfect time for me to read that book!  

Gift#97: another Easter memory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.