LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Coffee...

Colin the tile guy came back to finish my stupid fake wall and bless him he put my new shower screen up for me cause I was a bit scared to drill any holes in the tiles in case I fucked it up. He showed me the drill bit I need for such a job so I'll add that to my shopping list at some point. During the process we discovered that B&Q had mixed me furniture paint that's not waterproof epic fail so that needs stripped and redone.

Then I went to Moira's and thought she'd cheer me up. She'd asked me to bring the car so we could go to Holyrood Architectural Salvage and see if we could offload some of her old lights and stuff. Alas they're not buying so that was a bit of a wasted trip. Then we went to a vintage shop in the Grassmarket to drop off a coat. Unfortunately, Moira appears to have lost the blue badge already and I'd not updated my Ringo app since getting my new phone and subsequently couldn't remember my password. Found cash and coughed up three quid for 30 minutes. 

The car was making a bit of a funny noise when I left the house this morning and it sounded suspiciously like another broken spring. I phoned Isobel at MacKinnon's to see if they could squeeze me in as I'm going to the hairdressers on Saturday and no wheels or a breakdown would make that particularly tricky given its in Newport. Success... They can squeeze me in tomorrow. 

So after that we went home and I coughed up another £12 to park outside Moira's house while we went in to look for the blue badge. I think at this point we were both verging on hangry so we decided to go round to Cairngorm Coffee for our usual cheese toastie. I force her to let us turns in buying each other lunch cause if not I said I wasn't going. 

We went back to hers to sort a few bits out and see if we could find her fancy new blue badge so next time we don't need to pay for parking while I ferry her round. Success... thankfully. It was exactly where she thought she put it, just underneath something else.

I thought I'd just go to Homebase to get some new paint as they did the last lot and it was perfect. The guy there was very helpful but did say I'd need to strip the other stuff off. Great. Can't wait. I bought some Meths.

Then I got back in the car and called Isobel back to ask if I could dump it this afternoon rather than tomorrow so I could drink wine when I got home. She said that was no problem so off I went. Got to York place and the car was making a nasty noise. I thought I'd just keep going and try to make it to Meadowbank. Alas... not only do I have some sort of pothole related damage, I have a flat fucking tyre. I abandoned Barney in a permit bay, phoned the lovely Isobel back and spoke to Donald... he said just to leave it there, drop off the keys and he'd send the boys along in the morning to change the wheel and sort the repairs.

I shall be taking this one up with the Council. They will feel my wrath let me tell you. Not only was there the incident with the bins but I've already had a broken spring replaced because our roads are an absolute disgrace. They'll be paying for the repair and my train fare to Dundee if it's not fixable tomorrow. 

On the plus side I stuck to wine and didn't drink the Meths. 

Nor did I strip any paint.

FMAL

I give you my coffee cause my flat tyre is the only other option and it's too fucking sad for public consumption.


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.