Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Clouds coming in

I got my act together earlier today and headed out around 3. The plan was to go to Howth, which usually means the harbour. As I reached the Marine Hotel in Sutton I changed my mind and followed the coast along Strand Road. The views aren't as spectacular at this level, but still very fine looking across the bay to Dalkey and Bray. I's been a bit wary of nasty clouds building up from the west, but the sun was still a welcome companion as I wound my way up to the high road and around Howth Head to the summit.

Lots of people there, and I'm sure the tourists were disappointed when the mist rolled and the usual dramatic view was nowhere to be seen. I sat a while waiting as the Baily lighthouse appeared out of and disappeared into the mist, finally giving up and continuing around the headland and down to the harbour. I stopped at Kish Fish for a ham and cheese toasty and a hot chocolate. The hill-top mist turned into strong wind down at the harbour, so I didn't hang around too long.

I was struck by how busy it was down around the harbour. The car parks were full and the restaurants along the West Pier were packed, doing a fine trade that was reminiscent of pre-pandemic times. My journey home was slow, with traffic crawling along. A bonus closer to home was spotting Mick, my favourite cousin's hubby, out cutting the grass. I rolled down the window and shouted hello. A from-a-distance followed, with me saying I was on my way home from Howth and he saying he'd been there earlier and had found the traffic slow even then. The cousin joined the conversation at the side of the car and we arranged for me to drop in for coffee and a proper chat next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.