Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Not again? Yes, again.

We were having a lovely day, when it all went wrong. Big time.

We visited Carl’s mum’s friend in Co. Wicklow and her lovely dog Charlie. As usual, she laid on a lovely spread and we spent a lovely time with her, stuffing ourselves on cakes and other treats. We said our farewells around 5:30 and headed for Dún Laoghaire for a bit. Afterwards, I waited at the roadside for Carl to get the car and pick me up. Before he made it back, I took a fall and ended up on the ground with my elbow feeling very sore and displaying a huge lump.

Nine hours later we left the emergency depart in Vincent’s Hospital with my right arm encased in plaster from hand to halfway up the upper arm with the arm bent at right angles. As well as a broken elbow, I also came away with a cracked rib. I’m due back at the bone and joint clinic on Friday morning. If an x-ray then shows sufficient improvement the cast will be replaced with a brace. Since I’m right-handed, I really hope that will happen. Otherwise, I face the prospect of living with the cast for four to six weeks, struggling with my arm permanently bent at right angles, not to mention learning to do everything left-handed.

A good day well and truly ruined.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.