Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Getting Splashed In this one

Spotted this at the top of the beach as the tide was coming in.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

I thought maybe I should give further explanation on yesterday's blip.

I had been viewing on-line videos on how to make your own crackle paint as I thought it would be a way of producing more textures suitable for superimposing on other images.

The process involves laying down some PVA glue and covering it with a water-based paint such as acrylics, poster-paint or chalk-paint.
The main variables are:
Material used for substrate.
Colour of substrate
Thickness of glue layer
Type of paint used
Time delay before applying paint on top of the glue
The dilution/runniness of the applied paint
Type of brush used for application
Speed of drying (hairdryer assisted or not)

In that one I used a PET box lid off a pack of Christmas cards, thin layer of glue, no delay, diluted black poster paint poured on top (no brush) and placed over radiator to dry.

The paint was too dilute to give a crackle texture but it all ran off to the edges where it dried out.  Then I took a close-up photograph of one of the edges and superimposed bands of graduated colour.

The result reminded me of the chalk downlands of my childhood - hence the title.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.