pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Planes, Trains and Automobiles (and a boat)

The final day of my holiday with the children today.

Fortunately, we were not resting on our laurels and were out to attend the family-only version of my niece’s 6th birthday party. We had a lovely few hours there although I did feel for my sister, who was suffering with a nasty bug of some description, but she did well and got through it.

There was some real heat in the sunshine, so we even got some time sat out on their patio enjoying the view across the town and soaking up the welcome rays.

My niece and The Youngest played for ages whilst m’boy entertained his younger cousin and ate his body weight in the available cakes, snacks and treats.

Late afternoon, we said our goodbyes and headed back down the hill to home. It was still so nice out that I couldn’t bear to be indoors and needed to stretch my legs, so to a little bit of grumbling, I suggested that they jump on their scooters and we’ll do our lockdown loop of a walk. Needless to say, they had a great time whizzing along, comparing tricks and finding increasingly weird ways to ride their scooters.

I marched along happily, enjoying the sunshine and the sight of my two youngest (The Eldest had been collected from home at midday) in the wild, being children and having fun.

We talked about our week together and how it had encompassed Planes (Duxford), Trains (into and around London) and Automobiles (the journey down South and back) and of course, a boat (HMS Belfast). They will be off on a new adventure with their mum next week as they take in a Youth Hostel holiday down in Chester, so I’m looking forward to hearing all about that!

They played some Nintendo Sports when we got home and then we finished our final day together cuddled up and eating a light tea (and some advance easter eggs) in front of Avengers Assemble.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.