Seriously?

By MerrilHope

Amazing Grace and Voices

Just got home from attending this evening's 'RC Singers' concert conducted by colleague-friend and fellow music teacher, Koray. In the Turkish song captured here, fellow colleague-friend and music teacher Deniz is playing the (Ottoman Turkish) Tanbur. Repetoire was mostly A cappella, including a lovely rendition of Amazing Grace and La Bamba. Such a wide programme from Turkish songs to Mozart's Lacrymosa. This group of students (sorry - the boys are hidden in the back row!!) travelled with Koray and Deniz to Italy last month to participate in the Verona Choir Festival (for the first time) and came home with a silver cup! Tonight's performance was pure Gold. Bravo.

I am sorry I cut off everyone's feet in the photo! I was sitting in the front row and trying not to disturb or annoy those around me by raising the camera. I hate those photographers at such events who draw attention to themselves rather than the performers and try not to be one myself. Consequently, no feet but great voices ! A snapshot blip, not an artistic one, but that's just fine for a journal I think.

Hardly worth mentioning that it was yet another day at 32ºC ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.