Finding My Bearings

By JustJuli

Time flies!

It’s my husband’s 50-somethingth birthday today! I have to say ‘somethingth’, as he’s refusing to accept that he’s now nearer 60 than 50 and said he’s going to stop adding any more numbers.

We and our children had a lovely afternoon tea at Leonardslee, followed by a good couple of hours walking round the gardens, oooing and aaaing at the baby wallabies and admiring the sculptures. This is actually the thirtieth birthday (oops, re-did the maths, thirty-first!) my husband’s spent with me - no idea where the time’s gone! I liked these sculptures - almost like five faces for five decades of life? Maybe I’ll try and recreate a small version for his sixtieth, with old photos.

The chef at Leonardslee apparently has a Michelin star. I reckon my four gold McDonald’s stars are better than that but my family said if I mentioned that when we were there, they would walk out so I had to keep quiet. I’m sure the chef would have been impressed, though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.