Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

3024. Day out on the miniature railway!

We had a wonderful day out on the Wester Pickston Railway near Methven. There were mini steam trains as well as diesel ones and we got to go on most of them. We took along a picnic and apart from getting very cold, we had a fabulous time.
Apparently they have these open days about four times a year and they’re very well attended and perfectly organised so that the wait to go on a train isn’t too long. There’s an on-site Tea Room where we had a much needed hot drink!
It was a fab day out and my grandson loved every minute of it. We were talking to him about maps as his current obsession is maps and flags from all over the world so he’s coming up to ours on Tuesday so that I can show him the maps I made 50 years ago when my sister travelled to Australia overland by bus. I managed to dig them out of my treasure box and have them sitting under the rug in our lounge to try and flatten them out a bit as they’ve been rolled up for the past 49+ years!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.