A small flock of greenfinches

I was delighted to see a small flock of greenfinches near the patio, feeding alternately from our sunflower feeder. They don't visit our garden often. It had been raining all morning so food was probably in short supply.

I watched this pair fly into the neighbour's garden and perch and flutter about on top of these two shrubby bushes. I don't know what they are but the greenfinches were very interested in their leaves and buds.

 An hour or so later there was a crack of loud thunder and I looked up from my desk to see a huge dark cloud dispensing large hails stones. I took a picture of the patio and then one directly across The Horns valley behind the house. 

The noise of the hail hitting the building was very loud. I also went to look out of the from window and saw a torrent of water carrying hail stones covering the road in rivulets. I've added three shots to my 'Extras' today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.