Discoveries

We've been discovering things without leaving the confines of the property today. Like a periwinkle in flower. In terms of getting out and about, Mr A hasn't been beyond the garden. I at least went down to the bins to get rid of various things. But two good sessions in the garden are the reason why I've done 10k steps without leaving the property!

We carried on the process of delineating the refurbished front garden bed and managed to get all the slabs in place and the one new plant we have in situ (a honeysuckle). Building on the clearing that Mr A had already done, I also made a start on the bed at the side of the house (we have garden on three sides...east (front), north (side) and west (back),. No south. Duh. A lot of planning between the two of us (questions about who gets a veto on what...) and some discussion via messenger with neatwithice and W on plans for developing the garden further. We're lucky with our stone walls and we think we'll already have at least some of our "cottage garden effect" in place before the end of the summer.

I had no yearning to garden before the pandemic (I had a garden in Leeds between 1996 and 2004, which I had to pay people to maintain because I had neither time nor interest). It was April 2020, when I decided that we weren't going to live through lockdown without some "interest" on our balcony, that has changed things. Sorting out a cottage garden is very (but not wholly) different to a balcony garden....and a lot more hard labour so far. But I think it is going to be very satisfying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.