Snow and Slush

Today's activities were mainly aimed at our trip to England, so the suitcases are packed, hand luggage is gathered in one place, all the plants have been watered, recycling recycled, and the car filled with petrol so we know we can get to Arlanda tomorrow.
I think the cold is giving ground but so I could work efficiently I was taking suitable medicatiomn, so I don't really know.
By the time we return from the UK it will be illegal to be driving on winter tyres, but the roads around here are such that I wouldn't like to drive away on summer tyres! Should we be stopped by the police we'll explain that where we live it is still "winter conditions" and hope they are in a good mood.
It was very dull today and rained a bit. Not very warm and no sun but still the ice seems to be rapidly turning to slush. When we get back in 2 weeks  I'm sure all the roads will be snow free, but I'll be very surprised if the snow has gone from the fields and forest.
On the other hand we saw a lot of curlews today which have just arrived from their winter territory. Since they pick at grass and mud to get their food they must have been a little shocked to find everything covered in snow. They do, however, have a knack for arriving just a day or two before the grass appears. I'll have to wait to find out if they, or I, am right about the snow.
Up early in the morning so I'm soon on my way to bed. Goodnight everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.