Still Rockin'

By RockArea

Pitt House Tower

I caught site of this tower from the entrance drive to Finlake and looked on the map to see where I might get a good view of it. I set off on a walk through the woods and onto the road that goes down to Chudleigh Knighton and there was only one other place I could catch sight of it. Walking back up the drive, this is clearly the best view. It's a stone built two storey tower with an external staircase and was a folly to Pitt House, and Elizabethan House of some importance. It seems to have been offered for sale with surrounding land for offers between 50 and 75 thousand pounds. The closing date was last Thursday, I'm afraid.

We opened our lodge to the assembled masses for coffee this morning and after people had drifted off Lady Marian, and her daughter Frances, went into Teignmouth to get nails done and then home to gather up her dress, the bridesmaids dresses and belonging and I drove her to the hotel in Paignton where bride and bridesmaids etc will be staying tonight. I thought it was just the bride and groom that had to stay separately before the wedding, I didn't realise we had to as well! Anyway after getting her settled in there I returned to Finlake and tomorrow, I'll leave here to go home and get changed and then I'll head off to Dartington Hall where the ceremony is to take place. Marian and I will be staying there tomorrow night so it will be quite nice not to have to do any more travelling until the following day.

So, tomorrow will be a wedding blip of some sort, I imagine. I'll have to see what I can get for you. As it's a mixed race wedding (Scottish and English) there may well be kilts involved.

Don't know when I'll be able to get that up but I'll do my best.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.