Car problems

My car went in for a new wheel bearing during the week. The car had that slight bad wheel bearing sound that occasionally sounded a bit louder (not really heard by the garage when they test drove it). After the garage work I drove the car to Yoga on Thursday and it sounded bad like something was wearing or rubbing metal on metal. I asked MrH to look at it during the weekend and he gave it a test drive and returned home to say it sounded worse than ever.

This is a still from the video I made which showed lots of play in the wheel (there shouldn’t really be any wobble) and if you look carefully you can see a silvery line of wear in the drive shaft.

MrH then made me watch a very long video (I watched about 45 mins before I began to struggle with it in terms of information overload). The video was how a mechanic should replace wheel bearings in my model of car and as I watched MrH helpfully explained what all the parts were called so at least I can talk to the garage about what bits are rubbing against each other!

Car will be back at the garage as soon as possible on Tuesday. Having my own phone video to show the wobble in the wheel and the point of wear is very helpful as I’m not very confident or good at explaining these things. I’m hopeful they will sort it quickly and properly.

I’ve got a long drive in just over a week to Darlington for some training. At the current time I’m not confident at all driving the car, it sounds like the wheel may fall off. The last time it sounded similar was when the garage gave me the car back after I had new tyres fitted and they forgot to put the wheel nuts back on properly so the nuts were just spinning loose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.