THE ROAD TO NARNIA

A great morning.  My knee has been feeling so much better, but I still don't want to push my luck so taking it fairly easy.

The weather was so lovely and I took G to Ulverston this morning.  The roads were quite busy but OK.  We started off in Gillams, as always, for coffee.  Then I left G to look around the Market book stall etc whilst I popped off the try and take some photos of Ulverston Parish  Church.  This is along Church Walk in Ulverston and at the far end of that walk is St Mary's Hospice where I volunteered for my first two years in Cumbria.

I took a couple  of photos outside the church OK, beautiful blue skies.  Sadly however the church was locked up. I'm not sure why because according to the website it's meant to be open in the mornings. Although being Easter week it's possible they have noone available to open up so I will try again some time and try to learn more about it.

After that I went back for G, he had done everything he needed to do and rather than risk him getting wobbly and my knee giving out we decided we would just go straight to Manjushri at Conishead Priory again.  We had a light lunch there, G got what we needed from the shop and then we had a little walk around the top grounds and over by the temple.  There was obviously a couple of small parties in but it wasn't too busy so that was great.  There was also evidence of a lot of work going on, mostly re-decorating and touching up paintwork and woodwork I think.  It was so lovely - I walked around without a coat on. 

On the way home we stopped off in Argyle Street to see the birthplace of Stan Laurel (see extras).  It's not far from the Stan Laurel Inn of course.  I should have taken a shot of the whole street on reflection, so that will have to be another day.  Apart from the walls it will be nothing like when he was born there and it was difficult to photograph as a huge car was parked right in front of it - also I chose a day to photograph it when there is a wacking great SOLD sign in the upper window.  Possibly a holiday let now due to the key safe outside!!!  Ah well we will still remember the remarkable and talented Stan Laurel.

After that we just came home.  Not long after we got in the clouds started coming over and it's now tiddling it down!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.