photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 142 of 365 - Cook Street Gate!

Welcome to day 142 of 365 (Finished image after Editing)

The original photo was taken this afternoon in the city centre area of Coventry. The image is of the Cook Street Gate. This is the second time I have posted an image of this gate, however I still need to post this for my listed building project. The gate is one of only two Town Wall gates that survive from the original Twelve city gates. The other one being Swanswell Gate. This gate was completed in 1385 as part of the defensive walls for Coventry. Once the Town Wall and all twelve gates were completed in 1534, Coventry became the best-defended city in England outside of London. However this was short lived, because after the English Civil War of the 1640's the city walls were ordered to be demolished on the orders of King Charles II.

This Gate is classed as both a Scheduled Ancient Monument and a Grade I listed building. The Gate is number 15 on my list of 19 (Grade I) Listed buildings and number 4 on my list of 10 Scheduled Ancient Monument's in Coventry that I hope to photograph.

As always the shot was taken with my iPhone 5. The photo was taken using the camera App Mattebox for iPhone. The original image can be found here: Unedited original Image.

First of all I used the app Handy Photo to edit the image. The edits were made by cloning away the more modern elements from the image, such as the Double yellow road markings and the drainpipe on the side of the gate. Next I used the app called Photo Copier to apply a reproduction of the tone, texture, grain and detail of the artist Turner's painting called - Rain, Steam and Speed. Finally I used the App Distressed FX to add the extra texture to the image using the Egret overlay and the Sentiment Texture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.