Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Redo

I blipped a Purple Finch earlier this year (see HERE - front view) but this back view of the female was too good to pass up today.  This particular bird has more yellow tone to her feathers than what I usually see and I think she is especially lovely.  So, I've changed the tags so that this image goes towards my #yardbirds2023 list.  I also had a year-first Yellow Rumped Warbler but I was not happy with any of my shots so that will have to wait for another day.

Jax and I had our last Nosework class this afternoon - a mixed bag.  One the one hand, he did great seeing about 10 dogs in the parking lot when we first arrived - he sat calmly in the car and watched but no crazy barking or shenanigans.  And things were going well in the class until one of the there other students snapped at him as they passed each other.  No harm was done, but Jax lost focus.  Then, a largish man came in and Jax started hackling and barking.  That was unexpected and not at all pleasant as Jax was lunging and acting like a total jerk.  Turns out the guy raised chukkars (small game birds) so I am thinking Jax may have smelled them and reacted to an unfamiliar and gamey scent.  The German Shepard mix in the class (the one who snapped at Jax) had his nose up scenting the minute the guy walked in, so...  Anyway, his focus was really shot after that and he struggled to find the hides.  But, I am quite glad we did the classes and feel like I have a foundation to now do Nosework with him at home.  

Hard to believe that next week this time I will be with my parents; and in one month, I will be in Costa Rica!  Much to look forward to.  

I'm meeting a friend tomorrow for a walk in the marsh - should be fun and the weather looks like it will be gorgeous.  

Dark with nuts today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.