Derelict Cabin

Having dropped off a big load at the recycling center, curiosity got the best of me and I nosed around behind the service center.  I found ball fields and a playground, and a wooded road off the parking lot.  I meandered down the road that took me to Restland Cemetery.  Who knew? 

I asked but was told they had no memory of maple sugaring on this township land, but I could swear it was done many years ago.  Horses pulled a wagon of kids back into the woods and everyone else walked.  It was freezing cold and blowing snow when we were there.  There's no longer a path into the woods, and there's no sugar shack.  But I did find this cabin, smashed from both sides from fallen trees.

Also seen were the buds with the spider webs and a little ringed plover.

Thanks Marklieske and MaryEliza for hosting challenges.   I chose to put the DS as the main shot for a change, since most of my images are of nature.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.