WASHING ON THE LINE FOR WIDE WEDNESDAY

I realised it was going to be another windy day today, and as I had several sheets and towels to wash thought it would save some money on the electricity bill if I could wash them and then peg them out on the line.

The wind took my breath away whilst I was pegging them out and I dropped one of the sheets onto the grass, but undeterred, I carried on.  Despite shouting for assistance from Mr. HCB, he didn’t hear me, so I carried on womanfully and finished eventually.  I don’t think they will take long to dry in this wind.

I took the shot from beside our blue fence, behind the low wall, looking over towards the blue seat, which is placed so that we can look back across the garden.  The pansies are blooming well in the old wheelbarrow and the grass has been scarified and is waiting now for the wild flower seed to be scattered.  We hope these will be better this year, but if not, then we will keep trying and at least it means that Mr. HCB doesn’t have to worry about cutting the grass every week as it doesn’t get done from when the seeds are scattered until September.

The cricket season starts tomorrow - so Mr. HCB will be driving down the motorway to Bristol - I’m sure it will be a sad “first journey of the season” for him because he won’t have his cricket buddy, Keith, “fount of knowledge about all things cricket” beside him - but he says he will be fine and wants to be there on the first day of the season.  I’m sure he will spend sometime wandering around and chatting to people about Keith so I just hope the weather is kind.  Life goes on and it is indeed what we make it;  and although we know that, it doesn’t stop us missing people and feeling sad - but that’s OK.

I need to keep my eye on the weather now because the sky has clouded up and it looks like rain.  However, I’m sure Mr. HCB, who is working in the greenhouse, will be back to help get the washing in should the wet stuff come.

NURDLE - used in cricket
Scoring runs by gently nudging the ball into vacant areas of the field.

P.S.  Update - the rain has come so we have dashed out and brought the washing in - it's almost dry, so a few minutes in the tumble drier should finish the job!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.