Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

A PROLIFERATION OF PINK!

Mr. HCB was a happy bunny today as he drove down to Bristol in the sunshine to watch his team, Gloucestershire County Cricket Club, playing cricket against Yorkshire.  When I spoke to him at lunchtime, he said that things were going well for his team.

My weight loss journey is also going well - only another couple of pounds until I have lost a stone, so I am happy with that.  I have been going to a Slimming World Class and everyone is so kind and supportive, which is great.  We are all on the journey together, but the leader, Sharon, is the one who keeps us all together and “singing from the same hymn sheet” or perhaps it might be better to say “reading from the same book” or even “standing on the same scales”!

Today was no exception and even if someone has put on weight, there is no judgement and lots of love being shown together with commiserations and encouragement too.

Perhaps I shouldn’t have included the middle shot in my Blip for today, but a dear friend sent me these lovely pink roses surrounding some chocolate - my favourites - Lindt and Ferrero Rocher - we can still have chocolate - we just need to be aware and not eat the lot - as I might have done a few months ago!

I took the photographs of the cherry blossom at the entrance to our road on my way home this morning - this particular tree always looks wonderful every year and this year is no exception.

The rest of the morning I spent “trying” to declutter in my Quiet Room - and I make no apology for telling you this quote again:

“He (or she) who can read, never clears out an attic.”

I smiled, laughed out loud and even cried whilst reading some of the many cards and letters I have saved over the years - and many photographs too - some going back to the early 1970s when we were first married - containing such wonderful sentiments - so how could I possibly throw them away?  Any suggestions welcome!

There were cards from friends who had died many years ago but I think the most poignant was from the Minister who married us - he had been a widower for many years so after we were married, we often invited him round for Sunday lunch or tea. One of the sentences in his letter said “It is an honour and a joy to be counted among your circle of friends and I thank God and pray daily for you both.”  As a young married couple, it was so heartwarming to be told that.  

I made up for all the emotion by shredding lots of bank statements, going back to the early 2000s - but that was quite heartbreaking too, seeing how much prices have gone up since then.  

However, I had a surprise visit from Caroline, a dear friend this afternoon;  she just happened to be free, so we caught up over a cup of coffee, which meant I didn’t do any more de-cluttering.

Ah well, hopefully I will have many more days when Mr.  HCB will be at cricket this summer - providing the weather is good - so perhaps I need to speak to myself about the cards, letters and photographs as I spoke to myself about my wedding dress - watch this space.  M xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.