Lost in Melbourne

By MaxwellDoan

Good Old Days

“I wish there was a way to know you're in the good old days before you've actually left them.” - The Office S9.E23

One of my favorite quotes of all time from one of my favorite TV shows. I have been living by this quote since the day I heard it, living every day as if it was my last. I never felt like I wasted a single day when I was back in Vietnam, every day we had to do something whether it is going fishing in West Lake, going out for iced tea, sitting on the sidewalk talking with friends, smoking the pipe, we all did it every day as if it was a routine. So none of us felt as if we wasted any time just doing nothing. When I moved to Australia, I met this particular problem. I didn't know what to do anymore, without my friends and the things I'm used to doing back home, I felt as if days are going by too fast and I'm not getting enough things done. Unfinished business, I suppose.

The first picture included is iced tea, a very important part of my life as I spent the majority of my free time drinking iced tea. To me, iced tea represents the good old days, when I spent time just watching people go by their day when I sat down with a couple of friends for a few cups of iced tea by the side of the road when I got off a long shift and have a cold cup of tea to freshen up before I head back home. I can almost remember all the times I've sat down with a friend and shared a moment together at a place like this, an informal place where nothing really matters but the stories and the people are all that matters.

I usually tell my friends "This is the life" or "This is the good timeline" to remind them to appreciate the moment we're having together, to let them know that this might be the last good thing we share together so enjoy it dearly. And, the older I get, the more it comes back to me. Every time I have the time to sit down and think back about the "good old days", I think about all the times I said that and it tears me up every time. The times I spent with my family, the times I spent going out with friends, the times I spent sitting on the sidewalk sipping on a cup of iced tea just watching as life goes by. 
Oh, the good old days.

We're always in the good old days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.