Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Dougal’s birthday!

I donned my really wooly hat (it’s still perishing cold out!) and Archie and I set across the Meadows, heading for the wee cafe in the Quartermile. It’s my favourite - they play QUIET music, and today, my favourite jazz vocalist - Madeleine Peyroux featured. Bliss. I congratulated them on their choices. 

At 2,000 steps there, it’s just about right. Archie knew we were approaching a cafe (there are several on the way, and he has to be on full alert to drag me by the danger) but when we got to the door - he trotted in! And we got the best comfy seats by the window. Archie was happy staring fixedly at nearby punters. I had a coffee and could not resist a pastry. Mind you, I really didn’t try to resist, but I must remember to try next time. Back home the longer way, so a decent 4,600 steps. 

Christine and Dougal came for tea. Well, Christine had a meal. And it happens to be Dougal’s birthday (two years old!) which we hadn’t realised, but the hardware shop alerted JR this afternoon (they know all the neighbourhood dogs) and they now sell doggie stuff, so a wee present was purchased on behalf of Archie.

We had a proper roast, with trimmings. And while I was watching Jamie Oliver last night, he made an upside down pineapple cake, so I decided to make that. The one he made served twelve, which we decided was far too much for three of us, so I halved the ingredients. I carefully caramelised the (tinned) pineapple rings, put them in the bottom of the dish, so that when it’s flipped over, they’re on the top. But… I put the rings in the wrong way round, so the perfect caramelisation was wasted. Never mind, a blob of yoghurt on top…

Archie and Dougal get on fine. Though Archie grudgingly ‘puts up with’ young Dougal, and his face lets us know. But they did have a bit of a play in back garden!

A most pleasant evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.