Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Nick

A bit of a mixture day. 

The heavy rain dissuaded me from going for much of a walk, but I wanted to get out so I headed up to Skipton, in part because I knew there was a Peter Brook show on at a gallery there. It was nice to see some originals on display but those require a serious investment, so I was happy to pick up a couple of signed prints.

It was seriously wet, so I didn’t even attempt my usual walk in Skipton Woods, being happy to dodge from book shop to charity shop to café as I worked my way around town.

Back at home there were a couple of local football options, but I opted for a Bradford and District FA Cup Semi-Final between Field and Calverley United which was being held at Thackley’s ground. The fixture had already been subject to one abandonment (due to snow, with Field 2-0 up) and a couple of postponements due to rain, so I was triple checking that it was going ahead. 

It was an eventful game, with Calverley starting well and hitting the woodwork thrice but Field taking a two goal lead into half-time. Calverley got one back and were pressing for an equaliser, but time was running out. Into added time the tension spilled over into a full bout of handbags in front of the stand, with both sets of players piling in. When things had settled down the referee decided to send off two apiece, leaving a game of nine aside for the last couple of minutes. With virtually the last kick of the game an equaliser was found, and then it was straight to penalties. Even the shootout ebbed and flowed, but Calverley eventually emerged victorious 5-4 after seven kicks each. Thankfully with all of the added time I still managed to catch my bus back. 

Today’s image comes from my walk up to Thackley, looking due west from the edge of Buck Wood. The thing that caught my eye was the nice light which perfectly highlighted Noon Nick,  a glacial meltwater channel that sits up on the side of the Aire valley. I liked the way the nearer pylon was echoed by those disappearing into the light through Noon Nick. Probably best viewed large for that effect. Various Shipley landmarks are visible in middle distance should anyone wish to peruse them. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.