Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Sustain

A month later than typical, it was reassuring to finally see a couple of Small Tortoiseshell butterflies in the meadow next to the nature reserve.

It is thought that last year's very dry summer meant that there wasn't enough food around to sustain a second generation of these butterflies, such that those emerging this spring may have been hibernating since as early as June, months longer than usual. It is feared there will be a big slump in their population this year.

A little earlier I'd seen my first Green-veined White of the year in the nature reserve, and there were a few Peacock and Comma about too. No Orange-tip for me yet.

I walked along to Esholt, where my first swallow and martins were swooping above. By that point it had clouded over - it looks like there won't be much sunshine left during the rest of the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.