The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Coate Water Park (Thursday 13th April 2023)

In the morning I had a doctor's appointment which had a satisfactory outcome and I emerged from it into warmth and blue skies, so I revised my plans for the day, bought a Meal Deal from the big Tesco and headed off in the car, initially without a destination. There were a few options but on an impulse I made a right turn that meant I was heading for Coate Water Park.

By the time I'd got there the weather had deteriorated and it soon began to rain. The wildlife had been forewarned and was scarce, but I did see a great crested grebe diving and surfacing early on, and there were coots, geese, gulls, swans, tufted ducks, but no cormorants, even on the cormorant tree, or herons. I did see the black swan. There were plenty of wild forget-me-nots, celandines, coltsfoot, crowsfoot and periwinkles.

It was as well I was armed with pasta and a can of drink as there was a huge queue at the café. This swan had built a nest just below the metal bridge over the lake and obligingly stood up to briefly reveal her clutch of eggs. Archie was parked adjacent to a field that had a large flock of sheep in it that I watched for a while before setting off for home. The weather perked up on the return trip.

L.
Thursday 13.4.2023 (1843 hr)

Blip #3853 (#3603 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2023 #062/266 + #042/100 Extras
Day #4765 (1171 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #2993 (#2833 + 160 in archived blips)

Coate Water Park series
Swindon series
Wildlife series
Swans series

Coate Water Park, 13 April 2023 (Flickr album of 32 images)

Taken with Pentax KS-1 (Blue) and Pentax HD P-DA 35mm F2.8 macro prime limited lens

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
POST featuring Ghostpoet - Paradise Circus (Fallen Sun Version) (2023)
The theme tune to Luther has always been Massive Attack with Hope Sandoval performing Paradise Circus from the album Heligoland, but for the new film Luther: The Fallen Sun, which I watched this evening, the same song is performed by Ghostpoet.


One year ago:
The Woodland Garden (Blackbird)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.