The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

A Beak Full Of Bounty

It's that time of year again, albeit a little later than normal. This male Blackbird clearly has a nest somewhere nearby, he was back and forth my garden all afternoon collecting small slugs, worms and other bugs.

I might not get the masses of birds I used to get in the garden in Llantwit Fardre, but this one is slowly picking up now. I've had a pair of House Sparrows in there looking for aphids on the rose bush by the kitchen window, I know where their nest is. It shouldn't be too much longer before I get some fledglings in the garden.

The Pied Wagtail still drops in now and then. The Jackdaws are always around and eating me out of house and home. There a few Goldfinches that seems to be plucking up the courage to visit the garden, and keep landing on the telegraph wires outside. I don't have a niger seed feeder anymore, I may have to invest in a small one and see if I can entice them in!

I didn't hold out much hope when I moved here, but I am proving once more that if you feed them they will come!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.