Everything is dripping…..

Another wet day today, and cold along with it.
This morning the two guys who do our annual drive, patio and garden paths cleaning, we’re almost as wet as the job they were doing!
It still looked good afterwards in spite of the rain.
A trip to the hairdressers followed for a trim, when myself and the lovely hairdresser who attends to my very fine hair, decided it didn’t need a trim, so she just tidied up the ends and I just had a blow dry.
Stephen came to collect me and we went off to see some more friends.
(He left a bit later to go to see a client at the Cancer Support centre)
The afternoon is now very wet.
Once I was back home, I demolished half of my Cadbury’s Easter egg, having already eaten the two Cadbury’s Twirl bars which came with it, a few days earlier.
Everything outside is luminous green, as more and more of the trees opposite the house are either in leaf or just beginning,
I wish we could export some of this rain out to Blipper amandoAlentejo!
They really need it.
I settled down to read my book “Songbirds” by Christy Lefteri. A little later I woke when the book slipped out of my hand on to the carpet. It is really well written, but the one thing I don’t particularly care for are the passages where the trapping and killing of migrating songbirds around Cyprus. I know that it has happened in Malta too.
I looked it up and found that in 2021 new figures for Cyprus showed that 605,00O songbirds were trapped and killed in 6.5kms of mist nets. Then sold on the black market to restaurants in the Republic of Cyprus.
Here is a link to the article:

https://www.rspb.org.uk/about-the-rspb/about-us/media-centre/press-releases/cyprus-bird-trapping-report-2022/
The main story, however, is about a domestic worker, Nisha, from Sri Lanka, who has come to Cyprus to give her own little girl a life, by sending money back home. She disappears one night and no-one knows why.
This mystery is the main focus of the story.
It draws you in as each piece unfolds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.