Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Cherry tree blossom

Today was forecast to rain all day. Gavin was playing golf in an annual golf tournament and he thought it would be cancelled due to the weather, but actually although we had some showers on and off, it was actually quite bright and dry at times. 

Xena went out with P and her doggie pals this morning, she came back so muddy I can tell she had a great time. I had to give her a good wash.

I had a lot of admin to do today - I had to prepare the agenda for our next camera club committee meeting and for the AGM which follows two weeks later. I created and ordered personalised birthday cards for two birthdays coming up, and then ordered presents for said birthdays. I also had to send a friend some photos for a photo book she is making so I had to select the photos and then re-edit them where necessary. With the changes in the capabilities of editing software, old photos need to be re-edited to take advantage of the better software. I also had all the bed linen to wash and iron, so it was a busy morning.

I popped out to see if there were any blossoms on my favourite cherry tree in the next village. It was not the best weather for taking blossom photos, but on the last sunny day the blossoms had not yet opened, and if I leave it too long the blossoms will start looking a bit withered. They were looking beautiful.

And now it is the weekend. We plan to go get some plants tomorrow to replace all the ones lost this winter and in previous years due to frost. Our two beautiful bottle brush plants have lasted well but this winter the frost finally killed them off, they were quite large so to replace like for like will be expensive. The gardener took out the dead bushes today ready for us to plant the new ones.

Next week the forecast was looking so positive, a few people mentioned it would reach 20C around here....but that has changed, it looks a bit cooler than that now. Hurry up warmer weather!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.