Morningside to Musselburgh

This morning the sun was shinning and the sky was blue so Ann said, 'Trixie, would you like to go on a big, long walk? I'm going to be cleaning & organising most of tomorrow and then on Sun/Mon you're going to be spending a lot of time in the car because we're heading down to Cornwall.'


Sooooooo.................... off we went on a big long walk and guess who we met when we were walking across Bruntsfield Links?.............. My little friend, Archie, the schnauzer, his owner Lady Marchmont, and his friend Pip. I haven't seen him for ages and he barked at me. Not sure if he was barking because he was pleased to see me or barking because he didn't want to see me. I didn't care. I'm always happy to meet other doggies and humans.


And then.............. about a minute after I left him, I found the nicest ball ever. I think it's brand new?! It's blue and orange and is very, very bouncy. I carried it for the next three hours.


We walked over the Meadows, through part of Holyrood Park, past the Scottish Parliament Buildings, through Lochend Park and then along the old railway walkway down to Seafield. From there we walked along the beach at Seafield and then along Porty Beach before heading to Musselburgh.


Ann's plan was to have some chips & a diet coke at the little caravan at Musselburgh harbour, but do you know what?.................. The queue was really long and Ann was too hungry/thirsty to wait, so we went into the Harbour Cafe instead. Ann had a ham & cheese toastie and I had a massive drink and the waitress also gave me some treats. Yum!


By the time we got to the cafe we'd walked 9.22 miles, so after lunch we just jumped on the no 45 bus and came home. The bus was really busy. At one point there were four other doggies sitting downstairs with us, but do you know what?............................ I was in 'perfect pooch' mode. A lady got on with a very bouncy Spaniel and he kept trying to jump up onto the seat. His owner looked at me and said to Ann, 'Your dog is so well behaved. I wish mine were like that.' Ann felt like the proudest Collie pup mummy in the world. Lol!


Mmmmmmm.......... once we got off the bus I wasn't in 'perfect pooch' mode. I kept jumping up at Ann and she couldn't understand why.............. until..................... she suddenly remembered she'd taken my brand new ball off me and put it in her pocket while we were on the bus. I always carry the balls I find myself so she let me have it back.


However, by the time we got home I was so tired that I had to lie down while I was waiting for the lift. See the last photo in this collage.


And then we both had to lie down for an hour because walking 9.22 miles has exhausted both of us. Ann's perked up a bit now but I'm still snoozing.


We've had a lovely day out.


Happy Friday Evening Blippers. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.