Jeans On

We set off to visit Tatton Park today but, the closer we got, the worse the weather became. We could still have visited the house but it wasn’t going to be open for another hour, so I suggested calling in at J&S Accessories first, rather than on the way back, as originally planned.
I needed a new pair of motorcycle trousers and this is a pretty big outlet I have purchased from before. Initially thinking I might get a pair of leather trousers, I soon gravitated to browsing the armoured/Kevlar lined denim jeans as these seem to have become considerably better made, and more stylish, since the last pair I bought nearly ten years ago.
I sold those a couple of years back when my shrinking waistline meant that they were just too big, and have been looking for a replacement pair since. There was quite a variation in fit, depending on make, and it took the trying on of several pairs before I decided the Frank Thomas ones were the best for me. Unfortunately, the ones they had in the correct waist size were the wrong leg length and vice versa. However, the very helpful - and patient - assistant said he would go and see if he could track down a pair in the correct size.
He could. There had been a delivery that day which hadn’t been put on the rack yet, and there was a pair in the size I wanted amongst them. He insisted I try them on and I also sat on a bike they had in the showroom to check they were comfortable and fitted correctly in a riding position.
Excellent service, and I’m very impressed with what I’ve bought. I paid slightly more than I’d budgeted, but I’ve got a pair of jeans that can cope with sliding down the road at 75kph, are fully lined and have armour at knees and hips. Not that I intend to test out those features! Off the bike, they look just like any other jeans, but with the added bonus of being fully lined and water resistant, meaning they should be able to cope with the odd unexpected shower.
But there will be no motorbike riding until the weather improves considerably. When we came out of the store, the rain was even worse so we abandoned all thoughts of Tatton Park and returned to Chester. Better weather is forecast for tomorrow, so we might yet get to see some sights without getting soaked!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.