Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

First there was One

When I checked the bluebird nest box yesterday afternoon it looked like it was finished so I was not surprised when I spotted Missus going into the box this morning. She stayed in a while while Mister sang to her; then they both flew off. I waited a good amount of time before taking a quick peek and finding the first perfect blue egg!

Missus will lay one egg per day, usually in the morning, until her clutch is complete with 4-6 eggs. Only when all the eggs have been laid will she begin to incubate them, thus ensuring they all hatch at about the same time, 13-16 days later. This means they will hatch well after I’m back from OR but before I leave for Costa Rica. And maybe I will be back from CR when they fledge.

An early blip today. I spent some enjoyable time in the garden this morning, with Jax watching over me. Lots of birds coming and going and I heard the first Brown Thrasher of the season which was nice. We are expecting rain and thunderstorms this afternoon so planning to stay close to home.

I’m thinking dark with orange today

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.