At the seaside

We have had a full day!  Bob was feeling quite good this morning with little pain, so we opted for a beach walk, which he enjoys, although he can't walk too far.  The day was beautiful, and the temperature was around 12C.

We started off by having a lovely lunch at 'Rope' followed by a walk on the beach and back.  My photo is taken looking toward the Isle of Arran, which looked quite magical today.

I suggested that we visit Trump Turnberry  as we left, as I had never been in the hotel and was curious to see it.  Bob visited in an official capacity years ago when he did a safety audit on it, before it was refurbished.  Some years ago it was bought by 'The Donald' and it is said he spent £70,000,000 on refurbishing the hotel, the grounds, the golf course, the chalets surrounding and other buildings including the lighthouse, and it looks sparkling.  I am no fan of Donald Trump (just in case I get all sorts of comments on this) but I did enjoy visiting the hotel......

When we arrived and parked, we were greeted by the concierge (he seemed too posh to be called a doorman), and he directed us through to the afternoon room where we could have coffee.  He also offered to show us around after we had our coffee.  He was splendidly dressed in a pseudo Scottish outfit, complete with huge pheasant feather in his hat...... he was from Leeds, which amused me greatly.....but he was such a nice man, and only in the job for 2 weeks.

We duly settled in a window seat, with wonderful views out to Ailsa Craig and Arran, and were served our coffee, nothing else as we had had a full lunch.  As this was my treat, I asked for the bill, and it duly arrived.......£132.00.  I pointed out to the very nice young waiter that that seemed a little high for two coffees, luckily it was a mistake and all was corrected.

The said doorman duly showed us around, the ballroom is used for conferences and also for weddings, and can seat 500 people and is fantastic.  Even the toilets were amazing, lots of gold plate and beautifully equipped.

We did enjoy our trip, although The Donald did not appear to be present!  To record the event for my diary I have uploaded a collage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.