The change has begun

Where to start….

Callum had a very bad night sleep. I suspect some of the ‘over the counter’ medication he’s been using to keep his substantial aches and pains at bay have caused the acid reflux. He needs to see the doctor.
For the last 39 years and 5 months he’s been on his knees most days renovating wooden floors. I joined him in the business 30 years ago, but of course admin, book keeping etc doesn’t take the same toll on the body as his physical part.

This morning we had the most significant heart to heart yet about the future, and basically I said if he continues passed the 40 year mark in November, it’s without me. He’s still got a couple of years till pension, but I’m not saying he doesn’t have to work, just something else less physical.

He’s good at what he does, meticulously so. But he’s also a fair bit bored having done the same thing for 40 years. Understandable.

We talked and talked. He agrees that the business closes by the end of this year. We’ve got customer bookings till September which will be honoured. Then we will see what happens work wise between now and then.

Our son has all but moved out and within 6 weeks or so will have moved in completely with his girlfriend.

Time to downsize. The house where we are now was always our retirement nest egg and now it’s time to start the next phase.

Both of us still want to work doing something, but we can take our time looking at jobs and houses.

Except I’m already looking….. I went over to a new development today for a second visit at their show homes. I’m tempted.

My blip is out the show home window looking east over towards Bedford.

We need to see what our house is worth and go from there.

A big change for us, but it’s time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.