IT'S MONDAY AND IT WAS GREAT TO BE BACK!

I wanted to get back to the Community Fridge because I have missed everyone there, and it was good to know that I was missed too, even if it was for my cheeky comments!

I got there early and having decided that my new "eating plan" would be starting today, unfortunately, my first job was to bag up into twos, lots of croissant, Danish pastries and pecan and maple syrup pastries - my absolute favourite!  There must have been at least 100 in the huge bag - so someone didn’t read the market very well, but I’m sure that all those who took them from the Community Fridge will enjoy them - and not one passed my lips, not even the odd one, which I put in as a threesome!

The lovely Jackie we sang to in Church yesterday, who is 80 years young today was there too, first of all counting out tomatoes and then decanting dog food into bags - even dogs have to eat - and like all of us who work there, was happy to just get on with those jobs.  

She said she was going away later today, when she had finished her jobs, but didn’t see her sister, Maureen, creep in to collect her just after 10.30.  Her lovely daughter-in-law had even bought a chocolate cake and found four candles (!) in one of the kitchen drawers, so after we had prayed, which we always do before we open the doors  - and I was asked to pray as I hadn’t been there for about 6 weeks - we all sang “Happy Birthday” to Jackie.  

The bottom right shot is Darren and Dianne sorting out some of the frozen chicken pieces with some of the carrots in the foreground.  Some of them were so bad, I had to wear rubber gloves to handle them, but it was great to be back, even if they did save one of the grotty jobs for me.

There was a steady stream of people and lots in the café to chat to, so a good morning, although quite tiring.  The bonus was that we all had a slice of Jackie’s chocolate birthday cake, so the new “eating plan” has gone by the board at least for today.  I realise how much I have missed everyone, so I spent time catching up and I definitely didn’t have this, which some of you may have had when you returned to work after the Easter break:

ERGOPHOBIA (n)
"The morbid fear of returning to work."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.