Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

YOU DON'T SEE MANY OF THESE AROUND!

I’ve had a very busy day today - coffee with a new friend, which was delightful, this morning - when over two cups of coffee each, we discovered we had more in common than we realised.  

From there, having parked at the rear of Wood Street, I dashed back to the car because I had a meeting about baptism with a friend, who would like to be baptised, and a Minister at our church at 1.30 p.m. and time was getting on.

On the way, I dashed - and you can see I did a lot of “dashing” this morning -  into Leightons, our favourite opticians and when I came out, spotted this Morris Minor 1000 Convertible parked in front of an impressive Listed Building opposite, which used to be known as Bowmaker House in Wood Street.  Thank goodness I feel much better now and can dash around - the Vitamin D tablets have been to me like “spinach” was to Popeye, for those who remember him - and I am so glad to be back to my “normal” self, whatever that might mean!

You don’t see many of these cars around today, so I looked up some information about it - and was told this by Mr. Google:

“The original Minor - initially complete with side-valve engine, was a sedate performer - convertibles were dropped in 1969....Between 1948 and 1969, 74,960 convertibles made.”

This is obviously quite an old car and although I had taken several shots of flowers in our garden early this morning before I went out, as Mr. HCB said “The flowers will still be in the garden tomorrow, but you may not see another Morris Minor 1000 convertible parked outside such a great old building!”  As usual, he is absolutely right!  So here is my Blip for today - posted before I finish off making our evening meal and then go out for a Worship Group practice this evening. Phew!  There may not be many comments this evening, so I apologise in advance.  M xx 

P.S.  Looking at the photograph, what a shame that the window dressings look so shabby - but then I guess it's not a requirement for a Listed Building for them to look good - perhaps that's just a woman's view!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.