My Aunt Dorothy, pioneering woman mountaineer’

My Aunt Dorothy (or Dorothea) was my father's big sister, whose independent streak manifested itself in a love of mountains and mountaineering - very much against the expectations of young women at the time!

Born in 1894, I only knew her in her later years and found her quite intimidating as a young child (a perception that changed slowly as I grew older). Her book, ‘Climbing Days’, recounting her adventures and published in 1935, was always prominent on the family bookshelves.

She lived to the age of 92, remaining active to the end.

Though the blurb of the book says, 
Mountaineering is for many the most inexplicable of sports. The purpose of this book is an attempt to tell something of its fascination,’ 
I have to admit I've never really got the bug myself.

In recent years, there has been a renewed interest in her and her achievements, and I am delighted that she, along with many other women who have been trailblazers in a whole range of spheres, is now getting the recognition they deserve. 
(I've added some other photos in the extras.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.