At Last

Warming. Around +10 today, around zero early in the morning. Sunny, light north wind.

First cooking. Then the last window's washing. But I wasn't the washer, I got out. Mother called, I talked with her for a some while, before left the yard for a ride. Hurtling here and there to discover something vernal, new after yesterday. It was already quite late in the sense that we should have something to eat. Mr S was doing his affairs, so I had some time, however. Finally I went to him to get back home together. Still some delay, but in the end eating, almost in the evening.

On my ride I saw this wild flower, coltsfoot (Tussilago farfara). At last the flowering time has begun in here. The plant is very common all the way to central Finland. It begins to bloom here in the first blooms of spring, often as the first plant on bare ground, and its flowering progress is monitored as a wild plant that is one of the first to bloom here in the spring, like common hepatica (Anemone hepatica) and wood anemone (Anemone nemorosa).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.