Foodie books

I enjoy Nigel Slater's cookery writing so was pleased to find his "Eating for England" in a charity shop on Saturday. (I already had the other two that are pictured in my blip).

It's not a recipe book but about all sorts of things food related and food products.  I don't know why he titles it England, I'm sure that it is the same for the whole of GB.

It reminded me of lots of things from my past that have disappeared. A few are:

Old English Spangles (the ones with black and white wrappers)
Golden Cup bars (I loved those)
Anxac bars
Boxes of Weekend and Lucky Numbers (with numbers on the wrappers)
Dripping - (I remember my mum's bread and dripping so well)
and of course the unforgettable Izal toilet paper) - not a food of course!
Brawn - I've not seen it around here for years

It was drizzly this morning so I did jobs in the house then gardening this afternoon as it had dried up. The garden robin was keeping a close eye on me of course!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.