Topsyturvy

By Topsyturvy

Old friends

These family friends were Edinburgh based so we would see them infrequently. However, B's friendship with my Mum went back to college days and it seems that those are the friends you stay close to forever. It was just wonderful to be able to catch up with them in their 91st year - so many old stories from long, long ago to be retold and fascinating to hear about their extraordinary travelling life all over the world, either in their ancient campervans or backpacking.

Chris had a round at Traigh Golfcourse but I had to miss out :-(  I did wonder if I could have a go but was glad I hadn't when he came back shattered - lots of up hill and down dale! 

They showed us around a local garden, full of unusual rhododendron spp gathered about 100 yrs so by a local chap who managed to bankrupt himself in the process. After some neglect it has now been taken over by the Edinburgh Royal Botanic Gdns who are replanting and pruning as required. 

I think (know!) Berry was more excited about the muddy ditches and stream ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.