pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Black tie

I have been at a client’s conference in Blackpool today.

The weather has been mild and mizzly and the famous tower has only been partially visible.

The conference has been good and has enabled me to have a long overdue catch up with my work wife - we’ve become estranged due to slightly divergent roles, but remain close regardless.

It’s actually a conference I blipped about last year and now, as then, my favourite part has been the final section where the panel has consisted of young market traders talking about their experiences of starting a small business and attending a variety of markets to sell their wares. I was blown away by their dynamism, nous, charm and active embracing of the freedom of their youth. The world is their oyster and they are happily trying to prise it open to grab the pearl within. More power to them.

We had a brief break between the last session and the Presidents Dinner, which was a black tie event and surprisingly good fun. The CEO asked me about my room and I thanked him and said I was enjoying the view over the burned out husk of a building. He laughed and said that he wanted the insurance guy to feel at home. Touché.

Rolled into bed too late, but surprisingly ok considering the mix of drinks consumed after not having drunk for a while. Always feeling quite pleased with myself for being able to crowbar myself into a tuxedo I bought approximately 20 years ago!!

Thought to get a snap of the tie itself and my essential accessories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.