Punky female goosander

There was a male and a female but I’m having trouble getting a sharp focus on my long lens, so here is the female. To begin with they were on the far side in the shade and I thought they were mallards. When they dived I realsised they weren’t. A duck that dives is not a mallard.
 
Scots words beginning st. These tend to be thought of as Glaswegian terms, although they are not exclusive to Glasgow.
“I wis blethering tae that Mrs Gilfeathers. She said there was a stooshie doon at the steamie, a right auld stramash.”
Stooshie: a row
Steamie: a communal washhouse
Stramash: a commotion or ruccus; also an untidy type of football ping pong played inside the penalty box. “There was quite a stramash before Johnstone found the net.”
 
There is a much loved play called The Sreamie by Tony Roper which was televised in 1988. When I was a student in Edinburgh in the 70s, there was still an operational (I think) steamie in a wee square off Nicolson Street. Does anyone remember this?
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.