I am camera

By Martinski

Grrls having fun

I did a montage of some of my punk and post-punk singles recently but felt embarrassed at the lack of female representation. This is to make up for it. In her introduction Poly Styrene of X-Ray Specs says: “Some people say that little girls should be seen and not heard. Oh bondage up yours!” A good answer.
Top row: l to r Happy House, Christine, Wheel’s on Fire; all by Siouxsie and the Banshees.
Middle row:  Top of the Pops by The Rezillos, Oh Bondage Up Yours by X-Ray Spex, and My Lucky Number by Lene Lovich.
Bottom row:  Yankee Wheels by Jane Aire & The Belvederes, Aikea Guinea by the Cocteau Twins, and Typical Girls by The Slits.
I played a few of them this afternoon. Still sounding good.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FYMObdOqcRg

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.