Stella2

By Stella2

Black winged Stilt

As it was forecast to be sunny today I decided to make an early start and headed out to Seaton Marshes.  I hadn't anticipated such a cold wind so it was pretty chilly in the bird hides.  I was delighted to see this Black winged Stilt from the island hide.  It has apparently only been there for 2 days and has not been seen before in this location.  It is a fairly rare bird and several photographers and birdwatchers started to arrive as I was walking around.  There was also a very good view of a swan sitting on her nest on a small island infant of the bird hide as well.  A few other small birds were seen.  I had an enjoyable wander around the site and then headed to Seaton to view the Wildlife Photographer of the Year Exhibition before it ends, it was very impressive and definitely worth a visit.

After this I headed to Blackbury Camp to see how the bluebells were developing.  There are a few starting to flower but not that many out yet.
After an early lunch I headed back home.  An enjoyable morning. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.