Here and Now

By Mole

Way Back

Thinking about yesterday's strong women, and seeing this doily on our dining room table for the first time in years, I decided this would be my blip before discovering today's theme.  Sometimes things are in sync outside of my control, thank goodness. 

This is a lace doily 39" in diameter that one of my great grandmothers made.  She always had a project on her lap.  I am fortunate to have some of her incredible tatting, embroidery, cross stitch, and other handmade pieces, as well as a box of her old tatting/crochet needles.  Way back, she also taught my sisters and I how to knit, crochet, and embroider.  My mother taught us to sew. 

This particular great grandmother emigrated from Yugoslavia to Sheboygan, Wisconsin before moving to Cleveland, Ohio with her husband and two daughters.  I remember her as being very rotund, jolly, and often in motion.  In Sheboygan she helped other foreigners learn English.  We loved when she stayed with us once when our parents went out of town.  Her nickname for me was "Spitfire."  In later years she lived in Tampa, Florida on Davis Island where she died.  Last year Mr Mole and I visited her and her husband's grave for the first time at Lakeview Cemetery.  She had an impact well beyond her lifetime. 

Thanks to Mary for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.